Water Cooling ?'s

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Jan 22, 2005.

1. Robb

Robb Guest

Im new to this, but i do oc and i would like to get my computer a little cooler, im interested in buying a kit as i feel that would be easier than building my own system. Are there any kits that anyone can recommend that are good, i dont want to spend over 200, but the cheaper the better.
    Ive been looking on ebay, and i see these 5.25 bay units w/ combined resorvoir and radiator in the unit. Are these as good as some with individual components? Thanks for any help.
    Here is one i have been looking at, any thoughts?
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=370502

2. Penetration

Penetration OT Supporter

you get what you pay for. it would be better to build your own kit. You don't want a crappy kit failing on you then destroying parts of your pc, right?

3. DAN513

DAN513 OT Supporter

Water cooling is one of the places that you can't skimp. Cheap quality parts are just a disaster looking for a place to happen.
    IMO you're better off getting a big heatsink(thermalright xp120, or something of similar size) and a higher flow fan.

4. torquehead

torquehead New Member

I'm interested in using water cooling for the next computer I build. I haven't had any experience using water coolers for my cpu, graphics card, et cetera, but I'd definitely give it a try. :dunno:

It may not be a dire issue now, but hotter electronics require much more air flow to cool each device now than they had not too long ago. It looks like the trend will continue, with higher demands placed on improving heat sink materials and beefing up the fans placed on them. I think water cooling's the way to go.