A&P wanting to get into photography.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Junkyard, Aug 16, 2003.

1. Junkyard

Junkyard Guest

I just bought an Olympus C3020 and am pretty excited to get it next tuesday. It can go full atuo or full manual. I need to get up to speed on the settings and what not. Like paerature, ISO, shutter speed etc. If you guys wouldn't mind helping me out with some terms and settings that would be pretty cool.

I am excited to get some pictures taken, and then post to get some feedback, but help before hand would be great. Like what settings for what light etc. I am a huge amateur and just starting so any help would be awesome.

Thanks!

2. TypeSDragoon

TypeSDragoon Guest

3. barnold999

barnold999 New Member

Well I dont know what you need... but let me give a quick run down.

*Aperture (AKA f-stop)*
    This is how big the opening of your lens is... the bigger the opening, the more light that can enter your camera. The smaller numbers (such as 4.0) will be a larger opening, where as F16 will be a small opening. But, also with a larger opening, the background will be blured... so if you want a portrait with a softbackground (which you see a lot) you may want to try F4.0 or a larger aperture... whereas if you are taking a landscae you want something closer to F16, so you can capture all the detail.

*ISO*
    ISO is usually how sensitive the film is to light, but sense it is digital, it is how sensitive the sensor is... I always call it a theoeretical ISO on a digital camera. The smaller the number (such as iso50 or iso100) the more sensitive the sensor will be to light, fording a larger aperture / longer shutter speed... but if you are in lots of light, you will want a low ISO... the lower the ISO the less grain... always try to shoot as low as possible... but at night you will have to shoot higher a lot of times.

*Shutter Speed*