Want to upgrade to Windows XP Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by KatieDSM98, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. KatieDSM98

    KatieDSM98 Guest

    So I've had Windows 2000 for almost 3 years now and I have decided that I want to upgrade to Windows XP Pro. Anything I need to know before doing this? Has anybody done this before? How did it go? I also have Symantec Ghost 8.0 Corporate and want to make an image of my hardrive before I begin. Just to have as a backup in the event that something goes wrong during the upgrade. Any insight you guys can give me into this would be great!
     
  2. RobMR3

    RobMR3 Guest

    I just did a clean install of XP Pro. Went pretty quickly. However, I had a boot disk, with fdisk on it. So, I completely wiped my HDD, and started over. Had it done within 4 hours. Don't know if that's how you want to do it. But it was the best option for me.
     
  3. KatieDSM98

    KatieDSM98 Guest

    I don't want to reformat my hardrive.
     
  4. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2004
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i would definately recommend re-formatting. Especially since you've been running 2k for so long. Just doing an "upgrade" to XP is pretty dirty. Your system will run a hell of a lot better if you wipe your drive
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Damn - beat me to it. If I can't whore Ghost in this forum, I don't know what I'm going to do :wtc:
     
  7. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,001
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    I would also insure that your hardware is compatible with XP before doing so.
     

Share This Page