want to learn linux, where do i begin?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by s2k, Feb 22, 2007.

1. s2k

s2k OT Supporter

i downloaded ubuntu and is in the process of installing, so far so good...but it seems pretty straight forward...gui point click type thing....i know there are more to it than that...so need some pointer to what i need to learn to be able to apply it to my future IT jobs

2. Reclaimer

Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

im no os expert, but i found that ubuntu is one of the eaisiest of the linux based operating systems to install and run like windows. i found it a pain in the ass to install java...but once you give it a try, its not bad. i actually borrowed a linux for dummies book from a friend of mine, that helped me out a bit.

3. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Hmm...there's not much you need to learn nowadays, at least not for basic workstation-building and server-building. In the more user-friendly distributions (like Ubuntu), all of the stuff like installing programs and changing settings is either automated or is done through easy graphical controls, and unless you should need to build a highly-specialized system there would be no pressing need to use any of the extra-flexible, hard-to-configure distros like Slackware.

Other than that, I'd be interested to know for myself if there is a better system for finding and using CLI commands than the "manpages"; they work great if you already know the name of the command you want to use, but if you need to find out what command does what you need, the manpages are of little use.

(side note: with Debian-based distros like Ubuntu, you'll want to first check the Package Manager for any software you want to install; the Debian packages are the most foolproof way to install software. And always view the details during package installation, because sometimes the installer will ask you questions through the command line.)

4. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member