Wacky win2k problem...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MacandCheese, Apr 29, 2003.

  1. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi everyone,

    I have a win2k pro machine. I have optimumonline cable service with a linksys router (typical setup). Recently (maybe 4 weeks ago), i started after being online anywhere from 30 minutes - 3 hours, my connection will drop and i have to reboot to get it back. I have scanned the drive for viri, spyware, etc. I have defrag'd the drive, reinstalled the driver for my nic and updated win2k. I'm kinda out of ideas. It's so weird. It'll just drop. I don't understand it. Are there any settings in win2k i should look at?

    My system:

    win2k pro sp3
    2.66ghz
    512 ddr
    asus p4g8x Deluxe mobo

    Thanks for any help you can provide! Muchoe appreiciated! :)
     
  2. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you try ipconfig /renew?

    I get the same problem sometimes on XP and Win2k and I believe it's the ISP - I can sometimes fix it with IP config but sometimes I have to turn the modem on and off
     
  3. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I believe it's the computer only because when this happens, i cannot access the cable modem/router from my browser. And those are local (obviously), so i should be able to hit them whenever.

    I tried ipconfig /release & renew, but it froze on release and just sat there forever. I just rebooted it.
     
  4. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :o you're right then - I can always access my router - maybe yours is just fuXored?

    :dunno: but good luck
     
  5. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Blarg, that doesn't help! lol... But thanks for trying :)

    Anyoen else?
     
  6. LEGbEND

    LEGbEND .

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Shitcago
    :dunno: exact same thing happens to me on my Win2k machine... :squint:
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    does the computer lose it's connection? or does the router get hosed?
     
  8. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    The computer just looses it's connection. The router is fine.

    btw, i updated my routers firmware too. Weeiirrdddd...
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno: do you have a spare NIC you can swap your current one out with?
     
  10. knightm3

    knightm3 Guest

    Sounds like DHCP isn't renewing your IP. Make sure DHCP is enabled on your machine.
     

Share This Page