VPN support/help needed.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Truthfully I could figure this out on my own but I thought I'd ask to see if someone could clue me in.

    I'm trying to setup a VPN on my home computer. I've gotten it setup but if I take my laptop somewhere and connect ..well.. that's all it does is connect. I would like to be able to transfer files. I've barely skimmed the surface of this. I know vpn is ooooold stuff and there is prob. a ton of info on it. Apparently, from what I gather you need some type of program outside of your vpn windows settings to create a file folder on your desktop of your remote computer's files.

    Some has said DyNDNS.com is the way to go. After setting a an account there I am completely lost.

    Anyone got a minute?
    :x:
     
  2. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Use Hamachi, it's more suited for you.
     
  3. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas

    Yea, I've been doing some reading. I use logmein.com all the time.

    edit: Let me re-phrase what I am looking to do. My mother is a teacher. She often leaves stuff on her computer at home or needs something from her computer at home. I've gotten her a netbook but the problem still persists. She has about 4 different usb flash drives she carries around. Literally. I'd like to setup her computer so that she can get stuff from work. Hamachi would be great but she is not allowed to install programs on the computers at work. Anyone know a way she can go to a website that would tunnel her into her home computer or do something like this? :x:
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  4. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    MS used to have Live folder ... that did exactly what you wanted. They replaced it with something else not too long ago. I haven't tried the new stuff. Really all you need it vpn+windows shares to xfer files. I do that from work to home all the time.

    I have a dyndns account too ... that just basically allows you to not have to know your IP address. I have a DSL router that has DYNDNS stuff built in and if the IP changes it updates the acct automatically. Pretty handy.

    If she's not allowed to install stuff on her work comptuer and needs to do it thru the web I would forget the dyndns and vpn stuff and look at the folder share replacement I mentioned.
     
  5. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    teamviewer.com


    Can run without installing anything, just needs an active internet connection

    Can do file transfers, remote restarts and reconnecting after restarts, etc.
     
  6. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    http://portableapps.com/node/725
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What OS's are the machines using?

    You can use remote desktop and map a drive to transfer files.
     
  8. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    xp on all machines.
     
  9. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Doing it that way is usually slow and shitty.
     
  10. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas

    I can't seem to find the directions on how to setup hamachi on seperate machines. I think you need to setup vpn. I'm still looking into it. Any other advice?
     
  11. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You set it up the same way you did it on the first machine and join whatever Hamachi group you made.
     
  12. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    yes, but how do you browse the other machines folders?
     
  13. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    edited. Got it. :) Works well. Now we will just have to talk to the network admin about giving us a port. :x:

    heh... forgot don't need a port.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2009

Share This Page