VPN question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trom, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. trom

    trom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Apologies for the obvious noobishness of this question...

    I have my own computer and own independent internet connection at home. I have a work program that I can't access unless I first log in to work with Cisco VPN client. While I am connected to the work VPN, how is data routed? Does every bit of data go from my computer to work, who then retrieves and sends back to me? (Like a proxy server?) Or is the VPN only "active" when using the specific program that requires me to connect?

    I know next to nothing about networking. This question might not even make sense.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    All traffic to the work goes through the tunnel, and perhaps all data outside of the tunnel as well (ie if you browse for porn while connected, it could be routed through the work tunnel, depending on the settings of the client).
     
  3. trom

    trom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I'm not worried about porn... I can just close the VPN when the time is right. :naughty:

    How would I check the settings?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You'd be looking for a setting called "Use Remote Network's Gateway" or Cisco's version of that.
     
  5. trom

    trom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    When I click to modify the connection I get to a "transport" tab. It has "Enable transparent tunneling" checked. Under that it has two options:

    IPSec over UDP (NAT/PAT)
    IPSec over TCP

    The first one is checked.

    :dunno:
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Nothing to do with it - just how the tunnel is set up (which protocol to use).
     
  7. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    to be on the safe side, i'd just assume that all network traffic is being routed through your company's network on your VPN connection. most companies that i've seen disable your local networking. i think it is so they don't accidentally bridge your network with the company's one.
     
  8. trom

    trom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    OK...using a web based "What is my IP address" site, I found my IP. I put that IP into the WHOIS on samspade.org, and it returned the info of my work office. I'm guessing I could conclude that at least internet traffic is tunneled through work based on that, right?
     
  9. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Do a traceroute while the VPN is off and then when it's on. If the route is the same they're using split tunneling.
     

Share This Page