VPN Difficulties

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sexual Vanilla, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I've set up a Windows XP Pro machine here at work using XP's built in VPN connection setting in order access network folders while I'm at home. I'm able to connect through the VPN fine, I just can't access any network computers by typing \\computername into the address bar. I can access them by their local IP address, such as \\192.168.1.115, but these change on a regular basis so I'm forced to start at \\192.168.1.100 and work my way up until I find the computer housing the folder I'm looking for.

    I know you can do it using \\computername, because it worked great on our old computer (we have since upgraded). Any ideas? :sadwavey:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    The mysteries of WINS, and the benefits of Active Directory.
     
  3. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Please expound.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Please google.
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I apologize, I just assumed I could actually get assistance from posting in a Computers and Programming forum.

    Are you always an asshole, or is it just that time of month?
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    He's always an asshole.

    Have you considered setting up more static DHCP, so that the same computers always get the same DHCP address?
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks for the response. I've thought about static DHCP and had tried that once before. The computer accepting the VPN connections is also the one housing the shared folder I'm wanting to access. A strange thing happens though...the IP address for the machine accepting connections is 192.168.1.101 as viewed from within the local network (I have that set statically). However, it is given a different IP address when viewed from the VPN client.

    In other words, if I type 192.168.1.101 from the VPN client, I get no response. However, if I type the IP address of the VPN server (as found by double clicking the VPN connection icon in the taskbar of the client computer), it will connect. This IP address is somewhere higher, usually between 192.168.1.115 and 192.168.1.130. I would think the local IP address would be the same (192.168.1.101) whether I was viewing from the VPN or actually on the local network.

    I apologize if this does not make sense. Bottom Line: VPN server is getting 2 local IP addresses...one that is seen from local computers, and another totally different one that is only seen from VPN clients which changes with every new VPN connection and it appears there is no way to set it statically. Which is why using computer names as identification would make it much easier!
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can route WINS across a VPN.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I forgot that the crybabies of the world think that everything should be provided on a silver platter. God forbid you actually do anything that isn't spoon fed, to you!
     
  10. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Never mind the fact that I've scoured the internet for hours prior to asking this question. If you're going to be cynical or judgmental, don't bother posting here as your jackassery isn't helping anyone.
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look for 'forward WINS VPN'
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Who the fuck uses WINS still?

    Under the advanced DNS settings, you need to fill in the last three items. Assuming you are in an AD environment of course.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I do not use Active Directory. Difficult to set up?
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you do not have the license nor knowledge to use AD
     
  15. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct. You just want WINS routing.
     
  16. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    :rofl: Looks like we have Captain Presumptuous here. So tell me...what knowledge do I have?
     
  17. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Okay, I figured as much. I was just a little thrown off by the fact that it worked with the older computer that we have since replaced, and I did nothing out of the ordinary to set that one up.
     

Share This Page