vmware/xpsp2 questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by col_panic, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i got a question from someone on the nmap mailing list and can't find an answer, so maybe someone on here has one. if you run a linux host on vmware on xp sp2, would the linux host have access to raw sockets?
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I would imagine it depends on how you setup the networking in VMWare. It gives you a few options on how to do it (at least on the Linux version of VMWare - I've never used the Windows version).
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    in 2000, yes, you have access to raw sockets to run nmap. Not sure if XP or sp2 changed that. I think XP would not have changed anything, but SP2 may have... Best way is to try!
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    agreed, and that was my answer. i told him i don't have a test environment at the moment. xpsp2 removed access to raw sockets, claiming only hostile programs needed it - nmap is one such program. i have yet to determine if the vmnet interface is subject to any restriction by virtue of service pack 2
     

Share This Page