VMWare is being sold at buy.com for $22 after rebate

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Commander Riker, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. Commander Riker

    Commander Riker Starfleets Finest

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701D
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I'd totally do it. It's worth it to be able to run Windoze when you need it without booting outta OS X.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    vmware > parallels
    do it
     
  4. dmora

    dmora Guest

    is VMware the better one, i cant remember which is better.
    I just put in 4gb of ram into my MacPro for a total of 5gb. And i have another 250gb HD coming in.

    I think i want to get a dinky little 100gb or something HD for WinDoze for playing in VMware.
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    vmware = slower release cycle, but solid features, support, and no overpromising while underdelivering. I ditched parallels the moment I couldn't get their middleware drivers to work in linux, even though they claimed proper support for the OS.
     
  6. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    :werd: I remember back when they claimed to support Ubuntu and yeah it did work but it required you install it as Solaris, then do some roundabout shit and then change it to "other kernel".

    VMWare runs much faster and much more stable then Parallels from everything I've seen.
     
  7. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Commander Riker

    Commander Riker Starfleets Finest

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701D

    Awesome. The 30 day trial is just what I was looking for. :big grin:
     
  9. IS300_TRD

    IS300_TRD Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    119,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    hmm so VMWare is better than Parallels? I never got the chance to install Windows on my MBP.
     
  10. Poonany

    Poonany OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warshington
    Use the Google checkout as a new user and get an additional $10 off. Going to cost $22 after rebates. :big grin:
     
  11. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    the Enterprise uses OSX??? :confused:
     
  12. Commander Riker

    Commander Riker Starfleets Finest

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701D
    The main computer core on the Enterprise uses an OS which was an evolved version of the original OSX
     
  13. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
  14. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

  15. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within

Share This Page