VMware fusion or parallels?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NineMileDrag, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. NineMileDrag

    NineMileDrag burn life away

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    which is the better choice if i want to make a virtual machine with ubuntu?
     
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I prefer Fusion. And it recognizes Ubuntu much better also.
     
  3. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    fusion, hands down
     
  4. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. SinisterHand

    SinisterHand Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dayton
    Fusion is much better.
     
  6. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  7. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Fusion is easily the better program. Faster and far more versatile/powerful
     
  8. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    Fusion ftw
     
  9. NineMileDrag

    NineMileDrag burn life away

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    fusion it is. Can i just install Ubuntu straight from a burned install disc or is there a specific version that integrates with fusion?
     
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    yep.
     
  11. funkdis

    funkdis OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shoebox
    i got a questin before i head out and get fusion,

    If i install vista as a bootcamp, then get fusion, do i need to install another copy of vista? or will vmware access the bootcamp version?

    If it mergers them together so you only have 1 copy, thats awesome. but ye.
    anyone?
     
  12. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    yes, it will boot your bootcamp partition. also if you decide at some point you have no need for the bootcamp partition, VMWare will port it over to a virtual machine and delete the partition and you can just run it out of Fusion.
     
  13. karma

    karma you reap what you sow

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    where indeed
    :eek4:

    What?!? How?? I recently got Fusion and wanted to get rid of the bootcamp partition. I was going to reinstall everything. I don't have to?

    And, I assume I can rename the virtual machine from "Boot Camp partition" to "Windows XP?"
     
  14. NineMileDrag

    NineMileDrag burn life away

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I know have Ubuntu as a virtual machine however i didnt realize how many compatability issues there were.:eek3: It is difficult to even share documents between the virtual machine and mac.
     
  15. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    it could be because for how linux has it's "partition" setup... i know doing mac/windows is super easy, drag and drop type shit.
     

Share This Page