VMWare and Debian?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Dec 2, 2003.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    All this talk about VMWare, and I've decided to start playing with it again. This program rules.

    SO. I want to install Debian.. so I can run my own internal SSH server, just to learn with, etc. When I go to install, and need to mount a previously-intialized partition (through NFS server?), which I've created the "partition image" through VMWare.. but when I point to it (via IP, i enter: 192.168.1.101/ssh/" for the share I created), it tells me "Mount Failed: File Exists"..

    Any thoughts? I'm lost on this one. :hs:

    EDIT: Basically Debian is telling me that it can't find a hard drive, or an existing partition to mount...when I've already created one through VMW.
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    you're trying to install debian over the network? i'm kinda confused
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, explain further, I'm confused too.
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Sorry, my original post does seem to ramble, doesn't it? :)

    I want to install Debian (command line) in VMWare. I pre-created the partition (1.0GB).

    As I'm going through install process, installer tells me that it can't find a hard drive. I can setup the NIC, and set it up to pull an IP from DHCP, which I'm running on the network. This isn't a problem.. pulls IP fine.

    So now since it can't find HDD, it's asking me to mount a previously-intialized partition.. This is where I get lost. I try to point to it (via IP, i enter: 192.168.1.101:/ssh/" for the share I created), it tells me "Mount Failed: File Exists"..

    Not sure where else to go. Now, the /SSH/ location is on an NTFS partition on my XP host. Do I need to fire up RH8 VM and enable NFS to serve the debian server? :rofl:
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ah, I see what you mean. The NT installer found my fake hard drive just fine when I installed it in VMWare :dunno:
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It's weird.. RH8, Win2K, and Win98 found it all fine. debian doesn't. :hs:
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    hmm that is odd. i've only used SuSE with VMware and it worked fine as well... interesting thing is that when it recognized it as a valid partition the type was labeled something weird that had to do with VMware specificly. dunno man :confused:
     

Share This Page