Vista - Terminal Services

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MCWarhammer, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. MCWarhammer

    MCWarhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    I'm looking to upgrade to Vista x64 soon and I need some help deciding which version to get.

    I use terminal services a lot, when I'm at work I remote in to my home machine, and when I'm home, I remote to the server for work.

    It seems Home Premium doesn't have TS support, but Ultimate does? My friend says you can remote into a vista home premium machine, but not out of it, that seems backwards to me?

    I found articles that suggest its available, and others that suggest it isn't, I can't find an exact answer, and I don't want to purchase Home Prem and not be able to access both machines. I'm not sure of anything that Ultimate would have that Home Prem doesn't that I would really need to justify the extra 80 bucks or so.

    Any help would be great!
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,358
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Its really no different than XP:

    XP Home -> Vista Home Basic (has RDP client built in)
    XP MCE -> Vista Home Premium (has RDP client built in)
    XP Pro -> Vista Business (has both RDP client and server built in)
    Vista Ultimate is just a superset of Home Premium and Business, like getting XP Pro and MCE in one OS. So of course Vista Ultimate can be an RDP server.

    So any of them can remote into a machine running a TS/RDP server (ie XP Pro, Vista Business, Vista Ultimate, 2000 Server, 2003 Server). But only the business grade or higher ones can act as an RDP server.
     
  3. MCWarhammer

    MCWarhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Alright, thanks, I'll go with Vista Ultimate then
     
  4. royocold

    royocold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9,650
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    houston
    i can remote in and out prefectly fine on 64 bit
     

Share This Page