Vista startup question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reclaimer, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA
    i use a program that allows me to get my yahoo emails through an email application like thunderbird or outlook and it starts up before my network/wireless card sees the network, therefore i get an error message that says it has stopped working and will close.

    so i was wondering if there was a way to specify for ypops to startup after my nic/wireless card does?


    thanks.
     
  2. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA
  3. dk01

    dk01 Awwwwww..... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All up in your interwebsnet.
    I am not aware of a way to do this. The only idea I have is that some Cisco wireless card drivers will run as a service on startup and will automatically find a wireless signal before windows has even logged in. This is usually to allow people using wireless connections to logon to a Windows Domain. If you had a Cisco card then you would already have a connection when you log in. This means that you could put ypops in the Startup folder in the Start menu. Still its a long shot and isn't 100% guaranteed.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    have it set to "manual" in services.msc, then have a batch run on log-in to start the svc "net start svcname"
     
  5. dk01

    dk01 Awwwwww..... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All up in your interwebsnet.
    Worth a try.

    But again this doesn't mean it will run after it finds a network though, it just means it will start running after the network card program runs. If the network card is slow to get a signal then you might still have the same problem. Might not. Still give it a try and see.
     
  6. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just open the email program after your network has started to work?
     
  7. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA
    sweet. ill give the batch a shot but like dk01 said, im not sure if it would start after the network card does.

    thanks.
     

Share This Page