Vista locking up on WinRAR

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VladTemplar, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had problems with Vista locking up while extracting archives. It seems completely random, some archives are extracted quickly and effortlessly while others seem to lag and then eventually lock up the system.

    I'm currently re-downloading and doing a fresh install of it, but I wanted to know if anyone else had issues.

    System:
    Vista Ultimate
    AMD 5000+ BE
    4gb DDR-800
     
  2. boosted420

    boosted420 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    Negative
    Running v3.71 here

    Vista Home Premium
    AMD 4200+
    4GB DDR-400
     
  3. Neuman

    Neuman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    my guess would be it's hard drive related? make sure you chose the regular (not "quick install") option when formatting.
     
  4. greygoose

    greygoose New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CR
    def redownload winzip.
    vista ult here too, but no problems.
     
  5. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    No problems with me either. I have Vista Ultimate and WinRar 3.41

    Were you saying you're going to reinstall WinRar, or Vista? I'm assuming WinRar, but other people's comments lead me to think otherwise.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use ZipGenius instead. It's freeware and it handles all known archive types.
     
  7. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried WinRAR, WinACE, ZipGenius, and AutoUnpack (which is what I normally use).

    They're all locking up within the first few dozen archives. Sometimes it locks up the whole system, other times it just locks up the program. I've tried turning off my CPU overclocking, problem persists. I've tried unrarring on my system drive instead of my RAID array, problem persists.

    I'm completely out of ideas.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like you're fucked then. Your files are too big.
     
  9. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Try them on a different system to see if it may be an issue with the files?

    I have rar'ed lots of movies on Vista Ultimate
     
  10. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't have a second system to try it with, most of my computers are at my parent's house not at my apartment here at college (space issue).

    It seems to only be an issue on unraring very large files. If it's 1-10gb it's not a big deal, but the 10-40gb HD movie rips clog it up quick.
     
  11. greygoose

    greygoose New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CR
    are the files that you are unzipping, unrarring different files, or are you unzipping the same files w/ all of your unzipping programs?
     
  12. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's usually just one file that's been split up into archives varying from 50-150mb per archive.
     
  13. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got it to work with a fresh install of WinRAR and QuickPAR.

    AutoUnpack was what I used to use to fix this, but it's locking up. Guess I'll send the developer an e-mail.

    Edit: It's got to be an AutoUnpack issue, this thing just suddenly spikes my CPU usage and gobbles up all available memory. It's got to be a bug.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2008
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is QuickPAR?
     
  15. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Program that uses PAR/PAR2 (parity) files to backup files. If blocks of a file are missing in transmission then the parity files can be used to rebuild the file.

    It's ubiquitous throughout usenet, binaries especially.
     
  16. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, happening on WinRAR again now. This makes zero fucking sense.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    People who want a free program that handles almost every known archive type? There's no advantage to using WinRAR or WinZip or 7-zip, not when there's a free program that does the exact same thing.
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's very simple. You can't have a 40GB Zip file. It's just too big.
     
  19. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're not familiar with usenet are you? You take a 40GB file and split it up into archives. So that 40gb is split into a bunch of 50-200mb archives which recombine as they extract.

    This shit has been around forever. Those individual files are why they have PAR/PAR2 files to fix missing blocks and ensure the whole archive will extract without error.
     
  20. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ok.... is this problem happening with just one set of rars that you have... or all rars you try?

    It is possible that the rars of your most recent download are corrupt. And i don't mean from the viewpoint of QuickPar being able to fix them... if they were packed up wrong, they might not extract correctly, even if QuickPar says they are intact.
     
  21. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's happening with a lot of archives. I find it hard to believe these would all be bad, because some of the ones that WinRAR locks up on extract fine on WinAce.
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried extracting them on another machine yet, like someone suggested?
     
  23. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I've said, I don't have another machine to try it on nor a method to move it to another machine easily. Short of having someone bring a computer over and hook it into my network.
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Time to buy a USB hard drive.
     
  25. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got two, neither are here.

    Besides, if they open on another system what's the solution then?
     

Share This Page