Vista laptop wont connect to wireless XP internet

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dannybonbon, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. dannybonbon

    dannybonbon Guest

    I bought a new laptop it is vista. Will there be a problem with it connecting to it?

    my router is a netcomm. nb600w

    I have a wired desktop XP, a wireless desktop XP and a laptop Vista.
     
  2. Poundin Mounds

    Poundin Mounds New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (HTC Mogul: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 6.12) Sprint:pPC6800)

    vista = fail
     
  3. Jd

    Jd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    You shouldn't have any issues. Windows uses the TCP/IP protocol suite, which is universal among all versions of Windows.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not exactly universal.... but my Vista notebook has no probs connecting to my xp systems.
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    :dunno: my brother recently got a lenovo laptop with vista ultimate. I can connect to the laptop from his desktop (xp pro) and drag/drop files fine. I cannot get the vista laptop to connect to the xp pc though.
     
  6. dannybonbon

    dannybonbon Guest

    when ethernet wired the laptop connects to the internet
     
  7. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should be fine. I just figured out all the networking problems I was having thanks to google. If you do have problems w/ one PC not detecting another (for file/pritner sharing) you should befine after googling it or something. Usually its a firewall issue or quick registry edit, but for the most part connecting to your network should be 100% problem free.
     

Share This Page