Vista Home Premium: 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by delussional77, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Hey everyone,

    I just ordered an HP laptop to satisfy some school/business needs. I built it online and tried to get the best of both worlds. I don't need a full multimedia entertainment rig, but rather one that balances work/school with a bit of mobile entertainment.

    As can be seen below, I ordered the laptop with 3Gb's of memory but I'm pretty sure the 32bit version of Vista I have does not support that amount.

    Should I upgrade to 64bit? Are there any downsides (specifically programs not working...?)

    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Your customized PC includes:[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] - HP Pavilion dv5z Entertainment Notebook
    - Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (32-bit)
    - AMD Turion(TM) X2 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile Processor ZM-82 (2.2GHz)
    - 15.4" diagonal WSXGA+ High-Definition HP BrightView Widescreen Display (1680 x 1050)
    - 3GB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    - ATI Radeon(TM) HD 3200 Graphics
    - FREE Upgrade to 250GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
    - Webcam Only
    - HP Color Matching Keyboard
    - Wireless-N Card with Bluetooth
    - No Modem
    - SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support
    - No TV Tuner w/remote control
    - High Capacity 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
    - Microsoft(R) Works 9.0
    - HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope
    [/FONT]
     
  2. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Also, if anyone has any comments about the components i used to make this laptop please let me know. HP hasn't built it yet so I can still arrange for changes hopefully.
     
  3. Ebtromba

    Ebtromba Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    alexandria, VA
    32 bit will see all of the 3 gigs
     
  4. Ebtromba

    Ebtromba Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    alexandria, VA
    I think 32 bit os can see like 3.5 Gb total or something
     
  5. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    If your total is over $600 check this out...

    There has been a Gateway on sale at Best Buy and OfficeMax/Depot of late for $550-$650 with:

    15.4" Screen
    Intel T5550
    4GB RAM DDR2 667
    250 or 320GB drive
    ATI descrete video card (not as good as yours above though)
    Windows Home Premium 64-Bit
    DVD-Burner
    Webcam
     
  6. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    thanks dissonance

    there was actually a $200 coupon for HP laptops posted on slickdeals today

    i called up HP and they are going to retroactively credit my account and save me the money

    i have decided to stick with 32bit vista
     

Share This Page