Vista file launch delay?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Qutorial, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. Qutorial

    Qutorial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, vista is taking about 15 minutes to open files. It used to be that explorer just froze and then I would have to relaunch it.

    But everything takes forever to open now, just about. Firefox and some other programs open fine on startup, but when I try to open even a text file, it takes a few minutes.

    Instead of freezing explorer, now it just freezes with the loading cursor up for a while, and 15-20minutes later, the program will open...

    Why??

    Also, the particular program I'm trying to open is an installer program, so it needs 'permission' from me to open it...might this have something to do with it?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You could try to open up task manager first, then the txt file to see if maybe some app is weighting your system down.
     
  3. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    Are you opening them from Desktop by any chance?
     
  4. Qutorial

    Qutorial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was opening the installer from an explorer window at first, but I moved it to the desktop and tried to open it from there since.

    I've looked in the task manager and I don't see anything taking up a ton of system resources...

    Hmmm

    Edit:
    So, 2 iterations of the installer just popped up. It's been about a half hour since I clicked on them, so the problem still exists, whatever it is.

    Opening from the desktop didn't do any good it seems.

    And I have a macbook pro, so the hardware shouldn't be the issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  5. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    Somtimes when I just uninstall a program, right clicking anything on the desktop crashes it for like 5 minutes, then it works fine.


    Vista can be a bitch :o
     
  6. Qutorial

    Qutorial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently uninstalled, so...

    The problem just went away for you? Mine's been doing this since yesterday.

    Do you think defragging will do any good? Or checking the disk?
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wait... you're running Vista on a Mac? Via a virtual machine, I assume?
     
  8. Qutorial

    Qutorial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, on a separate partition. With boot camp.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Isn't that only in Beta? Maybe try Parallels?
     
  10. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It's a vista issue I have run across a couple of times. Usually it comes from making tweaks that vista isn't made for.
     

Share This Page