Vista Business can't see shared drives/printers on Domain

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by grocerylist, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I just upgraded from Vista Home Premium to Vista Business so I could access the shared printers/drives on the network at work. I'm able to login to the domain but I'm not able to see the shared printers or shared drives on the network.

    Has anyone experienced anything like this with Vista Business? I called Microsoft and they wanted something like $250 to help me with this one issue. Because it was considered outside their typical support for new product purchases.

    Also when I try to search for and add a network printer Windows Explorer locks up immediately and restarts. This happens every time I try to add a network printer.
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    do you have network discovery turned on?
     
  3. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Yes I have network discovery turned on.

    I forgot to mention this... I'm only able to see other Vista machines on the network. Can't see the shared drives/printers on the server (SBS 2003) nor any of the XP machines.
     
  4. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Another thing...

    I'm also unable to remotely access this computer via Remote Desktop which is setup on the server. I've named the computer correctly however when I try to connect I'm told that I'm unable to connect because the domain controller is down/unavailable or because your computer account was not found.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2008
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    are you browsing for the printers or do you have the exact addresses and it wont connect to those addresses?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You will need Vista drivers for the printers, the 2000/XP ones will not work. Are you able to ping the IP of a printer or PC the printer is connected to?

    Just for kicks, turn off IPv6 and see if that helps any of the network issues...
     
  7. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    Firewall on?
     
  8. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I'm trying to add the printers through browsing the shared printers. Yes I'm able to ping the machine which I'm trying to add the printer from.

    I'll try turning off IPv6. I just found it strange that Windows Explorer isn't responding as soon as I click 'add printer' in the add printer wizard.

    Firewall is on by default from the SBS 2003 server settings.
     
  9. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    The firewall and/or Network Level Authentication are going to kill your ability to remote into the Vista machine. Under the Remote tab of My Computer Properties, you can turn off Network Level Authentication requirements, which will allow you to remote in.

    You won't necessarily need different drivers for the printer(s) to work. What brand/model are the printers?
     
  10. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Thanks I'll double check whether I've allowed myself remote desktop connections to the Vista machine.

    The printers I'm wanting to use are a Dell 3110cn, HP 4000 and a Brother HL-5240.

    I think something must be wrong with the Vista Business install as again everytime I try to add a printer windows explorer crashes and restarts.
     
  11. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll find one of each on campus tomorrow and connect them to my vista business machine, then post the driver versions that its using.
     
  12. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    The weird thing is that I have a couple other machines running Vista that are able to connect to all of these printers, as well as the shared network drives without any issues.
     
  13. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I checked and I hadn't given myself access to 'Remote Desktop' but I've now enabled access without Network Level Authentication. However I'm still unable to connect to this particular machine. When I do try to access the machine I get the login screen but it looks like a XP login screen, whereas on one my other machines with Vista Ultimate when I remote desktop I get a Vista login screen.

    I've checked the server (sbs 2003) and the Vista Business machine is being detected as Vista Business.
     

Share This Page