Vista 64bit driver display stopped working BSOD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Netwit, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Netwit

    Netwit Pass the Kerbango

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone deal with this? It just repeatedly stops until my memory overflows.

    Running spider platform (3870/9750cpu)
     
  2. Netwit

    Netwit Pass the Kerbango

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    bumpp
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    uninstall/reinstall drivers
    been hearing the latest cat, 8.9, is causing bsods,.. try rolling back to the previous one if this is the case. stop vista from automatically installing drivers, do it manually.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Catalyst is a lot better than it used to be, but it's still buggy compared to ForceWare. I bought a Radeon HD 3850 and ended up returning it because I couldn't get the performance boost I wanted without customizing the graphics settings, and that required Catalyst, and Catalyst kept crashing my games.

    It'll be a long time before I buy ATi again.

    EDIT: Before someone points out that it's hypocritical for me to support AMD because they're the little guy and the alternative, but not support ATi for the same reason...all I can say is, AMD works well. I have two desktop machines at home: one is an Athlon XP 3000 with an nVidia chipset and the other is a dual P4 Xeon 1.7GHz with an Intel chipset, and the Athlon XP 3000 (really only 2.1GHz) scores higher on PCMark than both of the Xeons combined. Can't argue with that.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008

Share This Page