Vista, 1gb ram used for what?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    After Vista boots, it shows that Im already using 1GB of ram.... without having any windows open. Task Manager doesn't really have any programs that would be using all that memory.... so where does it go?
     
  2. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    visual effects?
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    someone correct me if i'm wrong but from my understandin it preloads frequenty used software in the memory so when you decide to launch them/it, it's available right away
     
  4. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Can't it show how much RAM is used for a disk cache?

    And visual effects shouldn't take up THAT much. My guess is it's either broken (wouldn't surprise me) or Leb has the idea.
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Superfetch. The more memory your system has, the more it'll use but the faster your computer will run.
     
  6. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't believe people are still asking this question.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, basically it does the one thing that people already hate about Firefox, except that it does it for everything on your hard drive. Fantastic.
     
  8. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    buy more ram.... easy fix :)
     
  9. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    I already have 4GB.....
     
  10. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    when why are you worrying? I highly doubt you'll ever see all 4GB filled for quite sometime. I don't think I've ever seen more than 75% of my 4GB used yet.
     
  11. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Yep.

    Vista is huge on caching.
     
  12. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    Well, I have.
     
  13. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    like other people have stated, caching and fetching. nothing wrong with have RAM 100% allocated. Windows sheep just need to get used to it and hopefully understand it. I don't expect the latter.

    *nix/vms has been utilizing memory in this fashion for decades.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope you realize that it's insane for AN IDLING COMPUTER to be using 75% of the most RAM the computer can even address.
     
  15. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    of course we couldn't do without a linux sackrider/elitist.

    :gtfo:
     
  16. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Why? The idea is that superfetch is supposed to learn my behavior and pre-cache what I'm going to need before I ask for it. And its not like that memory doesn't get freed up if something else needs it.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming it works well and doesn't slow down bootup while it's preloading all the crap that I'm just going to manually run anyway, it's a pretty good idea. Microsoft's attempts in the past to make "speed launchers" have flopped terribly; whenever I have something that comes with a quick-launch taskbar, the first thing I do is tell it to go away and never come back, because I don't want my computer to be unresponsive for the first five minutes after I start it.

    And actually, that makes me wonder; what happens if Windows Vista preloads MS Office on my workstation, and the MS Office toolbar also preloads MS Office? I get twice the preload time, no discernible benefit, and a bunch of extra RAM that's getting used up for no damn good reason.
     
  18. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    sackrider? no. elitist? nope.

    it just pays the bills.

    sad that a unix admin knows/understands more about windows than you do.

    go use win 3.1. you should be capable of handling that.
     
  19. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I never said I used 75% of my ram idle. Nor did he.
     
  20. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'll get right on that. :ugh2:
     
  21. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    So... You don't actually use Vista do you? :ugh:
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used it a bit. But no, I don't use it as my primary OS. To be honest, I can't stand it; it has no features I'm interested in paying for, and if I didn't have the job I have, I'd probably not even know what the box looks like.
     
  23. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Because it performs excellently? :rofl:

    Like crontab has said this idea has been done and done for decades showing that it works (in most cases). I know I can understand anticipating that MS would be first to fuck (and last to pick-) it up, though.
     
  24. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,791
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Hey look, ignorant people passing judgement.
     
  25. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Aren't you describing yourself, here, in this instant?

    OkOk perhaps it is unfair of me to understand anticipating that Microsoft could possibly implement one particular feature poorly.

    *group hug*

    ..It's just preposterous I suppose.
     

Share This Page