virtualization and physical hard drives (home lab)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by michelin man, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    current drive setup:
    2 500gb drives (raid zero)

    i'll be running 4 or 5 VMs.

    would things run better if i was to add a dedicated drive to handle the .vhd file?
     
  2. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Be best to just splt them up since you will have plenty of space
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can put each VHD on a separate hard drive, that will allow for the most amount of concurrent disk activity between all the VMs combined. However, RAIDing those disks and putting the VHDs on the RAID will allow for the fastest disk access for any one VM at a time, which may be more useful to you if your VMs aren't going to be doing a lot of disk activity like serving files or databases.

    Another option is to skip using VHDs altogether and tell the VM software to give each VM direct and complete control over a physical disk.

    I assume from the file extension you mentioned (VHD) that you'll be using MS Virtual Server or Virtual PC. You should consider using VMware Server 1.x or VMware ESXi if this is a server application, or VMware Player if this is a desktop application. I have yet to find a MS virtualization product that works as well as VMware's do.

    Also, if you use a VM software that runs on top of another OS, tell the VM software to split the VHD file into 2GB chunks, so the host OS' filesystem doesn't go berserk trying to keep track of millions of fragments for a single huge VHD file.
     
  4. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    using hyper v.

    thanks for the input and i will try moving the files around or setup another raid.
     
  5. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    :werd: With Hyper-V that's definitely the way to go. You running on a 2008 server, or just a stand-alone Hyper-V box? If the latter, definitely upgrade to the new version that comes with R2... lots of little tweaks that make for a BIG improvement.
     
  6. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    server 08 r2 is the host os.

    what tweaks??
     
  7. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA

Share This Page