VirtualBox is Neat

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been using VirtualBox in OS X to run Ubuntu Linux for development. Took like two fucking days to get everything going, but its neat. I definitely prefer this to other virtualization shenanigans.
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    btw - get this... its amazing, but even though virtualbox is using 120% of my processor time atm... I have two cores, so my computer is still responsive!

    Amazing, eh? Could that BE? :)
     
  3. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    So it's using 100% of one core and 20% of the other? Or 120% of the overall processing power?
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can't be better than VMware.
     
  5. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    virtualbox is faster in quite a few instances...

    if i want just a basic windows box to run a couple of apps you can bet i am going with VB over VM
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, when you have multiple cores, top gives you 100% per core.
     
  7. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason I did this, is that its a major PITA to run some FOSS libs in OS X. ports/etc is inferior to apt-get. So now I develop/edit on the OS X side, into a directory shared with the Linux side. The FS is mounted as type vboxsf and the Catalyst mini-dev server reloads each time I save the source.

    I have a host in /etc/hosts for 'linux' in OS X, so to test my app I just go to http://linux:3000/foo

    Which is a really nice workflow, I think. I can save the image and move it anywhere, convert to Xen/AMI and put it on EC2, etc.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the dark side. I've been enjoying this kind of flexibility on my server rack for over a year now.

    Isn't it great?
     

Share This Page