virtual PC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by canIscream, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Does anyone have any experience running this? I realize bootcamp and parallels is the shit right now, but I don't have an Intel Mac. I just need to run some .Net dev stuff. If you have run it on your older computers, did it require a lot of system resources? I have a 1.33 GHz PPC G4 with 256 MB of RAM. The only thing that makes me nervous is the RAM. I realize that it is a little short, but I'm saving for an upgrade.
     
  2. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    you WILL want more ram. my friend has 512 and it's not the best. it's ok, but i suggest about a gig of ram
     
  3. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    yea, i'm definitely going to a gig of ram soon. it's just a matter of getting the money to buy the stick of ram. i wanted to do it awhile ago, but i just can't throw 150 bucks or so into ram right now.

    i found the torrent for virtual PC. i'm going to try it tonight and see how it does when i get home from school.
     
  4. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    if you can, instead of buy a single 1GB stick, buy 2x512MB. they work better in pairs

    Edit: unless you plan on going up to 2 GB of ram
     
  5. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I've run Windows 2000 on VPC with my Dual 2.3ghz G5 and 3.5gb of RAM and it still ran like ass. But good enough to get something done.

    I've also tried Qemu w/little noticable difference.
     
  6. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    bah! thanks skolen. i'll probably try it anyway to see if i can get it going good enough to get my homework done.

    and i can't run dual 512's. there's only one spot for ram on my computer.
     
  7. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    i tried installing it this morning. more fucking errors than i know what to do with. i hate windows so much.

    to be fair, the rar file i downloaded was only 17.8 mb. i would have thought it would have been a lot bigger. this is so frustrating. i just want to do my homework.
     
  8. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    yeah, virtual pc is ~40MB, so look for it in that size.
     
  9. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    word. thanks for the heads up. i'll do some more searching at work, then some downloading when i get home.
     
  10. fifty50

    fifty50 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    i sometimes run it on my 1.33GHz G4 with 1.25GB ram.

    it's still laggy.
     
  11. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    that's so gay. i'm going to have to man up and buy more ram. :wtc:
     

Share This Page