Virtual PC 2007

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JasonKnight, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    Anyone else use this? I am running Vista Ultimate 64-bit and I have a 98 SE Vitrual PC running at times... the only problem I am having and I cant seem to fix if the mouse is really jumpy, it is jumpy for anyone else or is it jjust me?


    I tryed the mouse settins but its nothing like how smooth it is in vista... could it be becuase I am using an optical mouse, i wouldnt think so...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    what do you use win98 for? i used to dual boot it, just because my old games didn't like winxp.
     
  3. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yeah mouse is a lil jerky...

    Try upping the ram :dunno:
     
  4. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    I use it for my old DOS games, works great and I dont have to have a dual boot

    I have the RAM at 256 which I figured was more then enough for a 98SE machine... hmm... I remember my 98 machine only had 96MB lol
     
  5. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    This is a good enough reason right???? lol


    [​IMG]
     
  6. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,366
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Did you install the Virtual PC tools or whatever they call it into the Win98 machine?
     
  7. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    No, I installed Virtual PC 2007 onto Vista, created a Virtual hard drive, had it deticate some RAM, took my ISO of 98SE and an floppy disk image of the boot disk and installed 98SE onto the virtual drive.

    Think of Virtual PC as an emulator that you need to program yourself with an installation of an OS and it will Emulate what ever OS you want... Should I do Fedora Core for you guys next?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    MOO :bowdown:

    VMware for me
     
  9. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    got 1 2 and 3... but could never figure 3 out...
     
  10. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I use vmware works pretty good. I have run server 2003, server home, and linux on them. All run smoothly but the mouse is always a bit jerky.
     

Share This Page