Virtual Drives?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by slod16, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. slod16

    slod16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Call of Duty 4 for my computer, but to get it to work I need to mount an iso to a Virtual Drive. How do you mount the iso?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microsoft Virtual CD. It's free off www.microsoft.com -- and when I say free, I mean in the legitimate way, as opposed to that ISO you got off BitTorrent.
     
  3. slod16

    slod16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Virtual Clone Drive. I right click on the file and click mount on Virtual Clone Drive, but when I try to load single player it asks for me to insert the dvd-rom.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then I guess there's sub-track data on the real DVD that couldn't get captured by the ISO reader. You might be able to get it to work with a no-CD hack, but you're on your own now.
     
  5. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Daemon Tools is also another popular free virtual drive program.

    The easiest way is to just buy the actual game though.



    I'm suprised this hasn't been locked yet.
     
  6. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Just buy the damn game...it's well worth the small amount of cash you pay for it. Besides, you can't play on legit servers without a legit copy anyway.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  8. slod16

    slod16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have bought it for 2 consoles. I travel a lot and just wanted to have the singleplayer.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That gets into grey ethical territory, because if you're playing on the road then you're obviously not using the license you bought for your console. That's a tough one to call.

    That's also why I own maybe three console games and dozens of computer games -- I can take the computer games with me.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    still not legal. Just like how I had to re-purchase all my VHS as DVD, and now I have to re-purchase my DVD as Blu-ray. And fuck I even have to purchase duplicate copies for my psp... it sucks but that's life.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, it's not. Most computer games allow you to install on multiple systems as long as only 1 is in use at any time... But although similar, games of the same title on different systems are still different. And they are licensed differently.

    As a result, saying you own it for xbox does NOT give you the right to use it on a computer.
     

Share This Page