Viewing my desktop on my laptop screen?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheGreat8, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. TheGreat8

    TheGreat8 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    39,106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    GA
    I was wondering if this was possible. I want to connect my desktop to my laptop via the VGA adaptor or whatever the cable is called. When I do it and go to the graphics options some things come up about dual monitors and stuff but nothing about displaying another system on the notebooks screen. Any help?
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    No, you can probably use your desktop's monitor as a second monitor for your laptop, but not reverse.
     
  3. TheGreat8

    TheGreat8 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    39,106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    GA
    Ahh, see the problem was I was using my TV as a monitor but I moved it out into my living room so that we would have a better tv to watch and play 360 on. Thanks for your help.
     
  4. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland
    just setup remote desktop on the desktop, or vnc, and then VNC/RDP into the box. you can then have your desktop show up on your laptop. you will need to use a router to connect the two. google what i'm talking about and you'll likely be fairly pleased.
     
  5. TheGreat8

    TheGreat8 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    39,106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    GA
    Dont have a router. I think I will just have to forgo PC gaming until I can get my TV back from the living room.
     
  6. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    keep in mind that a laptop has VGA OUT. you would need VGA IN for this.
     
  7. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    I just remembered this, even though you said you don't have a router

    http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/

    You could still use it if your desktop has dual network ports or if you added a second NIC.
     
  8. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    "Synergy lets you easily share a single mouse and keyboard between multiple computers with different operating systems, each with its own display, without special hardware. It's intended for users with multiple computers on their desk since each system uses its own monitor(s)"

    i believe TS is working with one monitor if im not mistaken
     
  9. TheGreat8

    TheGreat8 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    39,106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    GA
    Just one notebook screen.
     
  10. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    right, so synergy will not work since it requires one monitor PER computer, but allows one keyboard/mouse to be used on all of those computers/monitors at once.
     

Share This Page