Video signal lost during boot

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MeanGreen, Dec 17, 2006.

  1. MeanGreen

    MeanGreen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    I've only had the computer together for about a month or two now and everything has been working great. Only thing that erks me is that when it gets to the windows spash screen w/the status bar, it will lose signal. Then it comes back once it logs in and starts running all the processes. It never did it for the longest time, then out of the blue it started doing it. Didn't even install or update anything when this started happening. Even tried a windows repair. Nvidia 7950 with a 24" dell monitor. Any body ever have this happen to them?
     
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Hmm, that is odd. I have nothing. :hs:
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    you don't by chance have dual monitors set up, do you?
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's most likely an application that's been installed that caused the problem.

    If it bothers you, you could try turning stuff off in msconfig one app at a time until you figure out which one it is, and then just keep that one off until you want to start it up.
     
  5. MeanGreen

    MeanGreen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    no duel monitor setup

    also checked msconfig and turned everything off expect for the essentials. Still has the same results even with changes but i do remember that i didn't installing any software before it happened. However i'm starting to think it might be a windows update. I'm not about the start taking them off one by one so i guess i will just learn to live with it. Thanks for the help anyway.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're probably right about that.
    I thought about the updates when I went to mention msconfig, but I forgot to add it in.
    It wouldn't be the first time that an update has messed with how a pc runs.
     

Share This Page