Video Clip editing questions! Any smart fellers out there?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Hemorrhoid Rage, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. Hemorrhoid Rage

    Hemorrhoid Rage Those who would give up essential liberty to purch

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The vast lands of Lord de la Warr
    I am trying to edit some video clips and I have Ulead and Video Edit Magic. All I am trying to do is cut out a few seconds at the beginning of the clip so I can get a good pic to show when its thumbnail is displayed.

    First of all they way I am editing it when I finish and "make" the movie it takes hours to make the new copy. Hours just to cut a tiny bit off? Am I doing something wrong?

    Also in comparison to the original clip it shows the same size but the "bps" ( bits per second I assume ) is a lower value. Does this mean I have lost video quality?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think what you want to do is take a snapshot during the video.

    I don't know those two programs, but there's a chance that feature is already built into at least one of them.
     
  3. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Windows Explorer displays a thumbnail of the first frame of a video, pretty unfortunate. He needs to chop off some of the start of the clip to have Explorer display a meaningful thumb.

    Oorrrr, I wonder, if you could do some magic with shipping a Thumbs.db file. Maybe not an excellent idea, but an idea.

    I wonder does Vista still take the first frame?
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    This just came up in another thread last night, and someone said to take
    a pic and put it in a folder with the video clip. Then it will be displayed as a thumbnail. Plus that way, you can pic and choose which pic you want to represent the video with.
     
  5. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Better idea.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the thumbnail file (folder.jpg) is only to show a picture on the FOLDER. It doesn't put a thumbnail on an individual vid file.
     
  7. Hemorrhoid Rage

    Hemorrhoid Rage Those who would give up essential liberty to purch

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The vast lands of Lord de la Warr
    hmmm right I would rather it on the video file

    any ideas on the "bps" difference?
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    bps = bits per second.

    It's a numeric representation of the amount of data used to generate 1 second of video. Generally speaking, the lower the bps, the lower the quality (when comparing two bps values from the same method/codec -- however different methods of encoding, and different codecs can yield the same perceived-quality as a higher bps clip, using less data (compression).

    To answer your question, it would seem when you crop the clip, you're re-encoding it. That's why it's taking a long time and coming out as a different size. A typical "crop" without re-encoding teh clip would be very quick.
     
  9. Hemorrhoid Rage

    Hemorrhoid Rage Those who would give up essential liberty to purch

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The vast lands of Lord de la Warr
    Thanks! Any idea on how to just clip it and not reencode the whole clip? Is there a better video editor than the ones I am using?
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have not used either of those. I use Windows Movie Maker for quick stuff and Premiere if I need more powa.
     

Share This Page