video card help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cruzr180, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. cruzr180

    cruzr180 I'm addictive!!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    just got my geforce fx5500 today
    after the install booted up my computer
    started up fine
    icons were huge though and I could not see my task bar
    I tried to adjust anything I could think of
    even when I hit the start button that would not come up
    I restarted the computer, it went through the first few screens ok
    but then just became black, desk top would not show up

    I switch the monitor cable back to my old video card and the desk top appeared with no problems

    what could be causing this? what can I try?
     
  2. CodsterTX

    CodsterTX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26,427
    Likes Received:
    1
    drivers
     
  3. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure to completely remove the old drivers and properly install the new ones.
     
  4. Yoshiemaster

    Yoshiemaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    yea i have the same video card, had the same problem. uninstall the old drivers BEFORE you install the new one
     
  5. cruzr180

    cruzr180 I'm addictive!!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    I thought I did
    what is the best way to unistall the old drivers correctly?
     
  6. SPPaintball

    SPPaintball New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    drivercleaner
     
  7. CodsterTX

    CodsterTX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26,427
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. cruzr180

    cruzr180 I'm addictive!!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    seems to be working now
    thanks!

    what is the best way to set up this video card? any tips?
    now I have my monitor at 1680 x 1050
     

Share This Page