VGA laptop -> monitor causes horizontal blurs

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by asdfbunk, May 20, 2008.

  1. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    The VGA out from my laptop (an ASUS G1, forgot exact model) causes lines of horizontal blur that go up and down the screen, much like in older crappy CRT tv's/monitors

    the DVI produces a perfectly crisp image, so it's not the monitor itself (unless it's the VGA in) any way to troubleshoot to find the exact problem? I don't have any other monitors to test..
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    DVI and VGA circuits are different in LCDs. I have a few RMA screens where one interface will work, and the other doesn't. So I still recommend trying another monitor. It's a laptop, so bring it to a friend's house to try their known-good monitor.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm surprised you even have a DVI input on your CRT. It's probably DVI-I, which has a "real" DVI connection integrated into the same plug as a regular VGA connection. That means your computer is still sending out a VGA signal (because if it weren't, your CRT wouldn't be able to do anything with it unless it's a really good one), so that rules out the computer. It also means the CRT's VGA processor is working fine, because it'll handle VGA signals from both ports. So, I'm going to blame one of the plugs or the cable.
     
  4. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's an LCD, don't know how I left that out. Acer X223W.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a day has gone buy and you still haven't tried my recommendation?
     
  6. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Haven't been able to leave the house, I'm heading on out right now though.
     
  7. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Works fine on all his monitors, couldn't test to see if it was the cable though, since all his monitors didn't have the removable VGA cable.

    Is it more likely the cable or the monitor?

    I'm thinking of buying another VGA cable, but they're quite expensive at the local shops, I'd rather not until I knew a little bit more certain.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    VGA cable should be $10.

    It's probably the monitor, imo, but try the cable. If you have an ohm-meter you can do 80% diagnostics on the cable without buying a new one.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, yeah, that makes a difference.

    Don't bother using the VGA cable if you can possibly help it. As you already know, DVI is much better.
     
  10. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Then I'll need a switch, as I have 3 things I need to input in to this monitor. Problem is, I can't find a DVI switch anywhere, only VGA, Component, Composite, and HDMI...
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    hdmi switches technically can work with dvi. regardless, you're probably wanting a KVM, which they do make, but it's not so cheap.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  13. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    :rofl: fuck that's expensive

    the hdmi switches I was looking at are 3-5 in/1 out and are around 50 bucks.. i think i'm better off buying a bunch of hdmi -> dvi cables than getting that KV/M thing.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    HDMI = DVI + Audio. Just get that and use some DVI<=>HDMI adaptors.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    thanks maxwell smart, but we've already established that :rolleyes:
     
  16. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok so after I established it wasn't my laptop, I tested my cable on another monitor with this laptop and others, works fine. So I naturally assuemd it was my monitor. I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning the monitor so I test his cable on my monitor + laptop, which first yielded the problem, and it's perfectly fine.

    Am I unlucky or what's going on?
     

Share This Page