verizon treo

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by b1gdeezie, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. b1gdeezie

    b1gdeezie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conkizzle, CA
    their data plans r pretty pricey.. did any1 pick up the 10MB for 24.99 or the unlimited plan for 44.99 or none at all? thing is that they gave me $100 off my phone if I signed up for unlimited data for at least 6 months. is it worth it?
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    hmm...

    they finally got a phone that's worth a damn?

    (wonder what they've crippled on this one?)

    Edit: "*Disclaimer: The Treo 650 supports the following Bluetooth Profiles: wireless headset, hands-free accessories, file transfer and synchronization with compatible PC’s. It does not support all profiles, for object exchange (Obex). Accessories sold separately. See verizonwireless.com/bluetooth for details."

    :squint:
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2005
  3. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    GSM is the way to go, not that crippled old shit. I normaly get 130-148kbps on my Treo with EDGE.
     
  4. b1gdeezie

    b1gdeezie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conkizzle, CA
    is Tmobile GSM?
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    T-Mobile and Cingular/AT&T Wireless are GSM

    I believe Verizon, Sprint, and Nextel are mostly CDMA.
     
  6. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    Sprint is CDMA.

    Nextel is iDEN

    Verizon is CDMA & TDMA

    Cingular is GSM & TDMA
     
  7. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    Don't know about Verizon's Very late version of the 650 but the Sprint has a OBEX patch on it's way.
     
  8. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    Oh and Sprint's data plan on any device is $10 a month, unlimited useage.
     
  9. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    the disclaimer text i posted was straight from the verizon site on the product pages for the "coming soon" Treo 650.
     
  10. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    What it meant was I don't know if there will be a Verizon patch like there is a Sprint one on the way.
     
  11. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i stand corrected. :)

    cingular still supports TDMA, but i believe most, if not all, of their new towers are GSM. TDMA is old school, though the coverage in BFE is a big selling point for my wife who has to travel to businesses in remote places at times. she's on a TDMA phone. i'm on a GSM phone, but we're both with cingular.
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    oh. gotcha. :bigthumb:
     
  13. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    I'm sure it's nothing put GSM. Cingular is frantic about getting everyone onto GSM, hence if you're a Blue customer and want to change your plan, you must get a new phone.
     
  14. turbodeuce

    turbodeuce ....................

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    verizon is only cdma, it can run on analog as well
     
  15. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    Verizon does indeed maintain a small TDMA system for their old phones. just like AT&T did. Their CDMA runs at 800mhz mainly with some 1900mhz so their coverage is better/signal can work in buildings than Sprint's, but their clairity and data speeds are lacking next to Sprints. (Sprint is 1900mhz only) Thanks to Sanyo mainly, Sprint's phones make up for this by being over-engineered for signal strength.
     
  16. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Nah. Her phone is definitely TDMA. I bought it for her last summer before the merger. We were formerly with AT&T. I've changed my plan, but she hasn't so she still has her TDMA phone, plan and service.

    This is the phone she has...

    http://www.nokiausa.com/phones/6560/
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005

Share This Page