WEB Vbulletin help please...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nothing, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. nothing

    nothing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to install vbulletin on geepow.org, and I do not know what I am doing wrong. Is there something I am supposed to do to the databases? All it asked me to do was create a database and enter it in config.php
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Did you create a user to access the database and give that user permissions??
     
  3. Ricky

    Ricky █▄ █▄█ █▄ ▀█▄

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    38,767
    Likes Received:
    6
    create a mysql database

    call up your hosting company and ask them how to create a mysql database and what is your mysql hostname, username and password.

    write that down and enter it all in your config.php file.
     
  4. nothing

    nothing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I gave all permissions, but I do not know where to get the data to put in the database.
     
  5. nothing

    nothing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did all of that but it still wont work so am I supposed to do something to the mysql database itself?
     
  6. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    vbulletin will import and make all tables in the database.

    what you need to do is setup a database and add a user to access that database with appropriate permissions. in cpanel, its extremely easy to use.
     
  7. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    what is your exact error?
     
  8. nothing

    nothing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry my server is down I think Ill let you know later.
     
  9. nothing

    nothing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay so what would I put for my sql database username? the username that i made for the database? and should it be just the name or in the form of "database"_"username"
     
  10. Audioholic

    Audioholic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to create a mysql user and a mysql database.

    same as the database the username will have the cpanel username added to it in the same format.

    So in short.

    Create new database in cPanel
    Create new mySQL user in cPanel
    Assign 'All' permissions to mySQL user for said database
    Profit!
     

Share This Page