VB6 / VB.net / VB 2005 Express Edition?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Antago, Nov 29, 2006.

1. Antago

Antago New Member

So. I have some very basic knowledge of programming in visual basic, but I'm confused as to which one to use. I have visual basic 6 learning edition, and I've seen visual basic 2005 express edition is available 'free' off the microsoft website. However, I remember once hearing that everyones going over to .Net...

In short, I'm very confused. If someone could briefly outline the basic differences and advantages of each one, I'd be grateful. :bowdown:Cheers!

2. HardTech

HardTech hungry

VB6 is the last programming language on the BASIC platform. It is not object-oriented.

VB.net is the first programming language on the .NET platform. It is object-oriented. Most of the major languages today are object-oriented, and there are many programming concepts that are unique to object-oriented languages. If anything, you should choose VB.net over VB6 because of this.

VB 2005 Express Edition is a stand-alone VB.net IDE, which means you can program VB.net using this program. You can only program VB.net using this program. If you would like to do development using other .net language, you'll have to get the Visual Studio.net suite, which is $$$.

I am about 60% sure of my answer.

3. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

4. HardTech

HardTech hungry

I agree 100%.

5. SLED

you're all about the percentages today

6. HardTech

HardTech hungry

see last post

7. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

I get the impression you don't know what you're talking about, HardTech. VB6 is most definitely object-oriented. All window objects are self-contained and instantiated at runtime (though the design interface makes it APPEAR that they are instantiated at design time), and anybody who knows what they're doing with VB6 builds their own classes just like in C++/C#.