VB Script Crew HELP v. login script

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gimik, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    I have no freakin clue what I'm doing here, so any help at all would be great. None of the VB scripting websites I'm trying to learn from have anything like this.

    I'm trying to figure out how to add a list of printers to a user based on security group.

    Example

    Group1
    Printer1
    Printer2
    Printer3
    Printer4
    ..
    Printer19 (we have a lot of freakin printers)

    ideally, it would call from a different file where the only thing in that file would be a list of printers by group, so it'd be easy for anyone to update. If not, then just a different section of the file with the group/printer list. All printers would come from a central print server, so that could be a constant.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  3. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    Wow. That's pretty cool. Thanks!

    I'll have to look and see if the OU structure I'd have to create to do that is feasible - plus I don't have rights to change the schema. And I'd still like to learn how to do it per user through a script anyway.
     
  4. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    group policy would be the way to handle that particular situation imo.

    if you want to get into scripting; windows power shell >>> vbscript
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You don't have to change the schema unless you're AD is out of date. And your OU structure for workstations should be pretty much setup by location anyway.

    The Add printer command is pretty easy - just don't remember it off-hand
     
  6. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    I'm not sure which version of AD we're using. It's mixed though, with 2k and 2k3 servers.

    My OUs are setup by software load, not location. We have something like 10 different sites all using the same software load. Like I said, it might work, but I still want to learn how to do it through VB script.
     

Share This Page