GUN Various AR15 Questions

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by RyeLou, Mar 20, 2005.

1. RyeLou

RyeLou OT Supporter

I apologize for this in advance. I'm new to them but have a handful of questions and people here seem to be helpful and to the point. I have a few, so answer what you can or what you feel like, thanks in advance.

What kind of optic is this mounted on the gun, and how does it work (What do you line it up with I guess..?)
    [​IMG]

And a second pic. for reference (again):
    [​IMG]

What type of optics are these, and why do people mount them on different parts of their receiver or even the top side of the barrel? I've noticed people move the one above around quite a bit too.
    [​IMG]

Whats the deal with the 1/9, 1/8 and 1/7 twist thing? I'd imagine that is the amount the bullet spins as it comes out, or has something to do with that. Which is better than? I'd guess 1/9 is the most common.

2. RRTX

RRTX New Member

The optic on the first one is an Eotech, it has a red dot projected on the glass which is used for aiming. It doesn't have to line up with anything, but mounted in the manner which it is it will normally co-witness the front sight post. The second one is an Aimpoint, same basic theory as the Eotech but in a different form. The mounting location is mostly personal preferance, so you will see them mounted at different locations on the rail and with different height mounts. Both were designed mainly for extremely fast target aquisition in CQB situations, but both can be used to aid in longer distance shooting also. The different barrel twists are for stabilizing different weight bullets, but I suck at really explaining that so someone else can take that one.

3. Bigsnake

Bigsnake OT Supporter

The quicker the twist rate (1/7 means 1 complete turn in 7" of barrel) will let you shoot and stabalize a heavier bullet out of the barrel.

4. eWRXshun

eWRXshun hai

1st pic is an eotech.
    2nd pic is a bushnell holosight.