Value workstation, Dual G4, or Dual G5

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by colosodian, Dec 3, 2005.

  1. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    What do you guys think would be a better value, a dual G4 (2x 1.42) or a dual G5, probably a 2x 1.8 or 2.0?

    What advantages would a G5 have over a G4 besides clockspeed?
     
  2. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    g5 is better. No explaination necessary.
     
  3. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    64 bit vs. 32 bit
     
  4. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    DG5 hands down.
     
  5. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    I would take the dual G5 over the dual G4. However, I would take a dual G4 1.42ghz over a single G5 1.6ghz or 1.8ghz.
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    by far!
     
  7. TurboDerek

    TurboDerek My favorite meal is horsemeat and rice.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Bernardino
    the max ram on the G4 is 2GB. Depending on the model you can get a dual 1.8 with 4-8GB of RAM
     
  8. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    I wont need any more than 2GB of RAM. And why do I need 64bit?

    Why, because 5 > 4 ?
     
  9. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    5 > 4
    new > old
    faster > slower
    awesome > shitty
    etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2005
  10. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I beg to differ. You would think that 2x1.42 would be way faster than a single 1.6 or 1.8 mhz chip but the system archatecture and bus speeds are greatly improved in the g5's, and I believe they are faster, although I've heard that the single processor powermac g5 models have a tendency to crash.
     
  11. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    because I didn't hear good things about the single 1.6 and 1.8 yet the older G4's dual chip machines ran better.
     
  12. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    i see.
     
  13. BoredVersion

    BoredVersion LOLTIDE

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    I'm on a Dual G4 and I have plans to upgrade.
     
  14. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    It mostly depends on what you plan on doing. A G4 can easily keep up and sometimes even beat a G5 of the same clockspeed in apps like photoshop. However, in FPU intensive apps, and especially games, the G5 is more powerful. But just because the G5 has 10x more FSB speed, doesn't mean its 10x faster in reality.

    Check this page for some interesting benchmarks between a G4 and a G5.
    http://www.barefeats.com/kwik.html
     

Share This Page