MIL USMC MOS's

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by mrj, Jun 26, 2007.

1. mrj

mrj New Member

Some general questions about the MOS's. I did some ROTC but it was Navy.

Anyhow, I'm looking to join. I'm a rather experienced Network/Systems Administrator, and jesus fucking shithead lordalmighty I don't want to ever sit at a computer again. :ugh: I can't handle it anymore, I've done it since I was 7. I'm 23 what a fucking boring, unappreciative, and unrewarding (apart from $) career.

So, with that said - I'm going through the MOS list and see things such as Infantry. Your actual MOS can be Infantry? I thought everyone was an Infantrymen first, and their actual day-to-day job second?

If you can be an Infantry guy, what do you do in your daily activities? I know people will have the same MOS and perform different functions, but.. really, what's an Infantry guy do? Are you constantly learning how to reload rifles faster, guard duty, are you always on missions..?

2. dmcgill

dmcgill New Member

not every marine is infantry. i believe that mos is 0311. every marine is, however, a rifleman. they are all trained for war, but only the specific infantry mos goes to the school of infantry after boot camp and mct.

i'll let any marines explain the rest. i just work with the infantry and force recon guys when we go to sea.

3. Socrates

Socrates New Member

No matter what Infantry MOS you choose, you are still working right next to all of the other infantry MOS's. During the course of your time in the Marine Corps, you will probably learn the basics of almost every infantry MOS.

I was an 0351, which is an Assaultman (Javelins, SMAW, demo), but I still had to learn how to assemble/disassemble all machine guns, mortars, TOW's, etc. I learned that in my unit, not in training.

As for having to learn how to reload faster, and all that stuff, you can count on it. Same shit different day. And firewatch never ends.