Using Xbox 360 as Media Player Extender while offline?

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by ninor, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. ninor

    ninor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a modded non-banned Xbox 360 that I haven't played since 11/18/09 in fear of getting banned since I'm probably already flagged. I bought a new Xbox and MW2 so I can play online with it, but I want to use my non-banned one in living room so my mom can watch movies off of it.

    I can buy a 50' cat5 cable and wire it to living room, but can I anyhow have the cable plugged in and be offline? I want to play single player backed up games offline and be able to transfer the hard drive to unmodded xbox and retain all of the achievements.
     
  2. Plan B

    Plan B New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    manually set the ip address to your local network scheme, don't enter a gateway
     
  3. tibbar

    tibbar aww fennec foxah aww

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Block the ports to that system on your router?
     
  4. N8

    N8 This fucking guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    this
     
  5. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I dunno what type of router you have but I just blocked the MAC address of the 360 from connecting to the internet. You could do it by IP or whatever too.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    but chances are when you go to play an xvid offline you will get an error. Stupid DRM shit. :rl:

    You can use TVersity though to bypass all that but that can be a bitch to set-up sometimes.
     
  7. ninor

    ninor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions guys, I'll try messing with it tonight or for Thanksgiving and if it's working fine, I'll order the cat5 cable :)
     
  8. Mofolicious

    Mofolicious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    50,700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    where's your toque, eh?
    If you are having trouble playing something offline (as mentioned xvid is going to be a bitch without connecting to live), try PS3 Media Server. It is the easiest I've used, although I haven't tried TVersity. It will play anything, and set up is nil.
     
  9. ninor

    ninor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS3 as in Playstation 3? If so... :ugh: I only have Xbox... no PS3...
     
  10. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Don't let the name fool you. It started out for PS3 but now supports (kinda) Xbox 360. Never tried xvid playback but mkv playback is pretty limited (no ff/rew, 2 chan audio).
     
  11. Mr Roboto

    Mr Roboto Flat Black Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Blackest Night...
    Tversity works really well for that stuff. My xbox is banned, but I didn't even know about the xvid limitations because tversity just handles it all. It's free, and I found it dead simple to set up.
     
  12. ninor

    ninor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed TVersity and I get this error when I try playing xvid/divx movies: 51-c00df236 (it's DRM bullshit error)

    However, I can play .mkv 720p rips :dunno:
     
  13. ninor

    ninor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, I disabled xbox's MAC in tomato's setup on my router (popular buffalo one)
     
  14. Mr Roboto

    Mr Roboto Flat Black Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Blackest Night...

    Can't help you with that, it works perfectly for me. It's hard to find anything that won't play with tversity, but it sounds like you have an xbox problem. Is it your original one? I think that's causing some problems for people.
     
  15. Plan B

    Plan B New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's because it's transcoding it

    which he will have to do anyway if he's offline


    the xbox needs to be connected to live to decode itself, but will always play WMV
     
  16. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    TVersity does not have those problems while transcoding.
     
  17. Plan B

    Plan B New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno:
     
  18. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I know

    PS3MediaServer sucks for the 360. :big grin:

    It's the shit on a PS3 though.
     

Share This Page