Using SPDIF on MB to receiver

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trez157, May 29, 2007.

  1. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    Hey all, was wondering if you could help. I am trying to use the optical out on my motherboard with my 5.1 setup. I plugged in the cable on both, but am getting no sound through the home theater. The spdif is set as an out on the MB under the options, but when i try to play mp3s, I get nothing. The MB is a 965P-DS3. The receiver is a Denon 1602. I know the port works on the receiver, because I usually use it for DVDs.
    How can I get winamp to play mp3s through the receiver? Thanks for the help
     
  2. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    You probably need to install the audio driver that came with your motherboard if you haven't already. That control panel will have an option to enable the optical output.
     
  3. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    I did that, it's called Realtek HD audio. I clicked on the thing to turn it on, but it's still just greyed out on the volume control.
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Give much more detail about this specific step.

    Same deal. I'm not following what programs are saying what.

    It's like looking for that guy, you know, the one with the hair.
     
  5. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    but i found the guy with the hair, I swear I did!

    I am off to work now, but I will take screenshots of everything when I get back tonight.
     
  6. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    here's one...
    [​IMG]
     
  7. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    heres another shot
    notice how this one the spdif volume is greyed out, so I cant adjust it, even though the cable is plugged in. if you look at the previous shot, you can see the digital spdif is lit up, so that is working.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    bump for help
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    SPDIF will always be blanked out as you cannot control the volume of SPDIF through the PC unless the computer is encoding either DD or DTS.

    Do you know if the receiver is receiving a signal or not? Is the little red light coming out of the TOSLINK cable?

    AHH, i think i see your problem already.....On the first screenshot where it says '4CH Speaker' you need to change that to Digital PCM Output or DTS Interactive if you motherboard/receiver support it.
     
  10. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    that cant be changed to anything but headphones, 2ch, 4ch, 6ch, and 8ch speaker. Ill check the cable again later, but it was showing a red light on the other end.
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Hmm, well if there is a red light out the end of the cable, the soundcard is outputing a signal. Have you tried to change the output sample rates to something else? Like 44.1 or 96? I know my cheap receiver cannot handle oversampled rates via Digital PCM.
     

Share This Page