Using "Secure Empty Trash"

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dfunk, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sometimes when I use this option it takes minutes to delete files, depending on the size of files. Is this normal?
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    yeap...
    it's really deleting the blocks and overwriting them so it can't be retrieved later...
    vs when you emtpy the trash, it just tells the system that block of data can be used again...
     
  3. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    I can't be sure, but I think it's supposed to overwrite that portion of the disk three times or so.

    Hence the term "secure".




    0000000011111000011111111101011100000010100000001111101111111000000001111111111111000000101010101010010010100000000000011010111110001111111100001001010101010110000000011111100000011
     
  4. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    Where do I find this option? :hsugh:
     
  5. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Open a finder window or click the desktop so that the menu bar changes to Finder as the current app. From the "Finder" title menu the choices are "About Finder", "Preferences", "Empty Trash", "Secure Empty Trash", "Services" etc.
     
  6. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area


    :cool: Thanks!
     

Share This Page