using RAID 1 to back up a RAID 0 setup possible?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fighted, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. fighted

    fighted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin
    i'm looking to set up a RAID 0 with two SATAII 250gb hard drives, getting one big 500gb drive (probably in a few partitions). My question is would I be able to use a RAID 1 set up, with two more identical drives, on top of the RAID 0 so I can have a backup incase one of the RAID 0 drives fail?
     
  2. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    in a raid setup normally all the drives have to be the same size. So in this case you could use a Raid 1+0 or Raid 10 but you would have to have 4 250GB drives. Each one would mirror each other and be able to take the others place in the event a drive went out.
     
  3. fighted

    fighted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin
    yeah, i was planning on getting 4 250gb hitachi sata2s, thanks for the info
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    that would really defeat the purpose of the RAID0 in the first place, if you are thinking that you get performance gains from that setup. Why don't you just do nightly backups or something?
     
  5. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    A mirrored stripe set or a striped mirror set will perform better than a single disk, a mirror set, 4 member raid 5, or a raid 3 with spare. It won't perform as well as a striped set, but a 0+1 set is recommended if one has the disks to do so.
     

Share This Page