Using my ibook abroad - does it have a voltage converter built in?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lordcoca, Jan 27, 2006.

  1. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I know some laptops auto-sense the voltage, does my 1ghz ibook g4 do this? It's about a year and half old :hs:

    Going to Italy by the way :coold:
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i believe so...my friend was just in italy and she's had her ibook for like 2-3 years...
    check the manual? don't take my word for it...
     
  3. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    built into the power adapter, not the machine. Check to see if the brick will accept 230V, it should say on it somewhere... probably by the UL certification sticker or something. :dunno:
     
  4. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    you're going to italy--leave the comp at home!
     
  5. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    fuck that, my pb goes everywhere with me
     
  6. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Well I'm studying there for the semester so I'm taking my ibook for two reasons - classwork, and to unload pictures off my digital camera :coold:

    It probably won't see much use since I don't believe I have internet where I'm staying :hs:
     
  7. Dude

    Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    :bowdown: I wish I was going to Italy...I miss that place:wtc:
     
  8. evh

    evh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24,184
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have no clue but have fun in Italy.
     
  9. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    That, I can guarantee :coold:
     
  10. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Yep, it should.

    I had this same question before I went to Europe in the summer. On the bottom of the power adapter it should say: Input - 100v-240v. All you would need is a plug converter, which will set you back like $5 at radio shack. BTW~ I have an iBook G4 (Late 2004 model)
     
  11. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    do their power outlets have the same pattern as ours?? :o

    What about at the airport, I imagin you will have your laptop as a carry on. Will it be OK when they run your bag through that X-Ray machine? It's been a while since I traveled abroad :hs:
     
  12. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    No, nobody has power outlets like ours :o Their plugs are wack too, just go to radio shack and tell them you need a European plug adapter.

    About the xray machine, if you run it through they'll reverse the conveyer belt and make you take it out and put it in a seperate bin.
     
  13. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    we always have to be different than the rest of the world, dammit :mad:

    But if they throw the conveyor belt in reverse, will the plane still take off? :eek4:
     
  14. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
  15. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    while this is handy and a all in one thing...it limits you.

    my suggestion to you travelers is to bring two things:
    1. universal plug kit from radio shack, make sure it accepts a grounded plug (3-prong)
    2. surge protected US power strip

    this way you only need one plug and you'll have a shitlaod of outlets to use for you US electronics
     
  16. h0tw3ts1ut

    h0tw3ts1ut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Springs
    For like $8 at Radio Shack you can just get one of those little voltage converters that can transform to match any plug in the world. Get one of those, plug a surge protector into it, and you're set. It converts everything down to 120v or whatever it is for you.

    I spent the summer in London and all my roomates used that setup for hairdryers, computers (including my ibook), cameras, everything, when they only had plug adaptors, which saw a laptop power converter and a hair straightener fried in the first week.
     

Share This Page