using an hd flat-screen tv as computer monitor

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SohCahToa, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. SohCahToa

    SohCahToa Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    what kind of cable would i need to make this happen?
     
  2. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    a DVI or DVI-HDMI cable
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    depending if your TV accepts DVI or HDMI or both
     
  4. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    or VGA cable (for lesser greatness)
     
  5. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    DVI works great.
     
  6. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Depends on your computer and TV.
     
  7. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firefold sold me a 15' DVI to HDMI cable for $6

    can't beat that, works great
     
  8. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    It doesn't look as great as a real monitor, but does well enough for watching movies.
     
  9. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    potroast does this. he uses a 42" Vizio LCD i believe and i think he sometimes visits this forum, though he's usually in the "computers and programming" forum next door. he could probably answer your questions.
     
  10. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    I have a 26" sammy lcd.

    dvi cable works fine imo
     
  11. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wouldn't use it as the only monitor, but for a larger secondary monitor it works really well.

    42" plasma
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page