Using 2 RCA cables in place of component?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Slid., May 25, 2007.

  1. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    I was wondering if I could temporarily use 2 RCA (red, white, yellow) cables to connect two component (YPbPr) devices. I assume there's nothing special about each wire, they are just colored differently for ease of use. Just didn't want to go to the store (yet) if I didn't have to.

    [Posted in the main forum with little success]
     
  2. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    yup you can
    I've done it temporarily before when I didn't have component cables.
     
  3. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should work just fine....
     
  4. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    it's all just 75 ohm cable, it should work fine.
     
  5. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    so question...

    what's the difference between RCA/Coaxial/Componet cables?

    they all have the same pin style...is anything really different? I have noticed that component are usually thicker than rca cables...

    is there really a difference?
     
  6. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Nope, all 75 ohm cables. Its just marketing.
     
  7. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Some have better shielding than others, that's about it.
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    that's what i kinda figured...
     
  9. art vandelay

    art vandelay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Its just the shielding on some, but if you don't run them near hydro power wires you should be fine .. and the fancy packaging.
     
  10. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Video is one of those places where a quality cable will make more of a difference than audio due to the high frequencies being transmitted.

    Again, as long as it is a coaxial 75ohm cable then you should have no issues. Quality cables generally have better shielding, improved flexibility of the cable, and lower capacitance.
     

Share This Page