Used pioneer deck blows fuses when power is attached

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kilabeez0, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. kilabeez0

    kilabeez0 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has a 10 amp fuse and when I hook it up to power it up it blows the fuse. Any ideas? I bought it off of ebay "as is, untested" i guess i got what i paid for.
     
  2. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,804
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    dead... probably a bad power supply.
     
  3. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    yeah bad power supply sounds about right/output transistors or something to that effect
     
  4. kilabeez0

    kilabeez0 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    i put a 15 amp fuse in it and it powers up fine, but i cant get the volume to work??? Actually we tried a 30 amp fuse and a puff of smoke shot out the back but it still powered up but no volume. Still think it's dead? Fixable?
     
  5. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,825
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    virginia
    dumbass. the 10amp is there for a reason.the radio is designed to short that fuse at that rating should something go wrong.what you basically did was allow more than 10 amps to run through. so theoretically a 20amp surge could fry something that 10amps would not have.

    basically.radio's dead.send it in for repair.and next time dont up the rating.
     
  6. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Or dont up the rating by 20 amps atleast.
     

Share This Page