USB problems. Can you have too many perhipherals plugged in?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Green Bastard, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    I have plugged into USB ports:
    Keyboard
    Mouse
    Printer
    Digital Camera
    Webcam
    PS controller
    Monitor is using one to make a 2 port Hub.

    My controller just STOPS working...I unplug it, replug it, and it works for a while. The lights go out on it and everything.

    I just remembered the ports on the monitor...and haven't tried anything yet, but could too many items be the problem?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if it's a cheap controller then maybe... but spec says 127 devices -- which you're not even close to approaching.
     
  3. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    It's an actual Playstation controller, hooked into a PS to USB converter. This never really started happening until I hooked my printer up via USB.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :rolleyes:

    USB Controller...


    And if this started after the printer, then disconnect it and see if it continues. Could be cheap cable.
     
  5. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Belkin. :dunno: It DID happen a couple times before the printer was hooked up USB...now it seems to be happening all the time.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    possibly faulty controller... onboard or pci? 1.1 or 2.0?
     
  7. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    My computer has 8 ports on the back, 2 on the front...

    Onboard, I believe. It has both 1.1 and 2.0 ports, but i'd be fucked if I could point out which were which.
     
  8. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Is the bus running out of power?

    I forget what the current limit is supposed to be though.
     
  9. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    No clue how to check that. Tips?
     
  10. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
    A single USB port can be used to connect up to 127 peripheral devices.

    your comp can support up to 500 milliamps at 5 volts without the use of a power-supplied usb device.

    power is prolly the issue
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    USB 2.0 is designed to supply .5 amps @ 5 volts to each port. If you have a crappy controller that can't supply the full .5 amps per port, and/or you have crappy devices that try to pull more than .5 amps apiece without having power bricks to run them, then your controller/hub will overload and shut off.

    EDIT: I have a portable laptop hard drive that connects using a special USB cable with two plugs on one end, so it can access a full amp of power from the USB controller. The laptop drive uses .55 amps, just over the limit of what a single port can provide. When I try to cheat and only use a single plug on the special cable, the drive shuts off and sometimes takes the whole USB hub with it. (just providing an example.)
     
  12. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    The only perhipheral that actually craps out, is my controller. Everything else keeps working fine. I switched the controller to the powered 2.0 hub built into my monitor, and so far, it seems to be working ok. :)
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another tip, not that this will help TGB. But if you're have USB issues like above try plugging in whatever USB device came with a power adapter.
     
  15. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    :sad2: My usb PS controller doesn't have a provision for a power adapter. :hs: I *HAVE* seen powered USB hubs tho...
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    USB 2.0 hubs have to be powered in order to be certified; they connect to the computer using a single port, but they have to supply full power to multiple ports. There's only one place that extra power is going to come from -- a power brick.

    Don't buy a USB hub unless it's powered. In the case of the USB hub built into your screen, it must be powered by the screen's power supply. If it works, it works.
     
  17. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    It is powered by the monitor power supply :)
    Working perfectly, I might add. :)
     
  18. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    That could be your problem. Don't overload it.
     

Share This Page