USB hard drive... format?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jackjohnson, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I bought a 500gb from dell, and just plugged it in and dumped some files on it.

    Of course its FAT32 right now... would formatting it in mac extended/journaled/whatever give me any advantages?
     
  2. Corporate Whore

    Corporate Whore New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    in for answer
     
  3. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    i would keep it fat32, that way it works with both mac and windows
     
  4. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    sounds like a plan

    and damn it... shoulda bought one with firewire :hs:
     
  5. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    firewire 800 ftw. if only i had one
     
  6. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    yeah i bought this wd mybook 500gb after someone posted it here.

    I didn't even think, total splurge. Would've been much happier with the 250 gb firewire premium mybook for $30 cheaper
     
  7. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    haha i actually have the 250 wd mybook standard edition (just USB).
     
  8. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    I reformat everything with Disk Utility. I couldn't care less about PC.
     
  9. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    some people have to use windows though for jobs etc in which you need to be able to use both
     
  10. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    yeah, the biggest HD I've ever owned was a 80gb haha. i had a 20 and a 30 only on this G4 for the longest time. I got used to small drives.

    I think it was just transferring and backing up all my files yesterday (which took foreverrrrrr) that made me want firewire. now that it's all setup it should be fine.

    the only thing that might bother me about no firewire is an old g4 at work only has usb 1.0 but i doubt I'll ever need to connect to it.

    but 500gb... damn. i can actually keep things
     

Share This Page