USB Extension cord

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by -rod-, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. -rod-

    -rod- New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I bought this cord so i could get my wireless antenna closer to the receiver. As soon as i connected it though it gave me an "unrecognised hardware balloon". I cant get the antenna to work through the extension cord. Are there any drivers or something i have to do to make it work? Thanks alot ot.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    how big is the cord? There's a max limit on length... for a high-bandwidth device such as wireless, it may not work. A 6ft extension works on my kb, tho.
     
  3. -rod-

    -rod- New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah crap, its like 10 metres. Thats means i probably just wasted $20 (Aus)
    So there isnt anything i can do?
     
  4. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
  5. WERUreo

    WERUreo Imua!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    You could also buy a cheap powered USB hub. Same thing happened to me when I was trying to position a web cam a distance from my computer. Got the extension, but it was right at the limit. So, I got a little powered (it has to be powered to work) USB hub, plugged that into the extension, and then plugged the camera into the hub. Worked great.
     
  6. -rod-

    -rod- New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ahhhh. You are the answer to my problems. Thankyou heaps.
     
  7. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Hmmm, you need a 10 meter wire to get your wireless device to work. That's too bad. :p
     
  8. -rod-

    -rod- New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah sucks hey. :sad2:
     
  9. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. -rod-

    -rod- New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Woah if I got one of those I'd have a bloody long USB cable. Think of the possibilities... :eek3:
     
  11. WERUreo

    WERUreo Imua!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, Florida

Share This Page