USB 2.0 External HDD problem. Won't install.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by HipHopHead, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Dell 4600
    XP Home SP2

    Just bought this HDD enclosure and am using a 160 gig Seagate Barracuda drive.
    Here is what happens when I plug it in:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And that is where I am at. It won't install it so I cannot use it. :wtc:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    right click "My Computer" and select "Mange" Then open the "device manager" and take a screenshot. Post the screenshot.
     
  3. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install drivers for the enclosure using the CD that came w/ it.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    obviously they are, because otherwise PnP wouldn't have found a USB storage device.
     
  5. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, i realised that and edited the post.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well, I haven't had an enclosure that required additional drivers in XP. XP should have the drivers you need. Honestly, if that's the issue, I'd return the enclosure and get another one that works the way it should (PnP)
     
  7. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]
     
  8. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    And it says on the box no drivers needed for XP.
     
  9. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Did some more Googling and found the log file (setupapi.txt in C:\Windows) of the installation:

    Any more thoughts? I have tried 2 differnt hard drives now and still not working.
     
  10. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Nevermind. Figured it out. Had to set the jumper to Master. It was on Cable Select. :doh:
     
  11. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    i was just going to say that!

    don't worry, i did the same thing for like an hour!
     

Share This Page